Azadi Tower

The Azadi Tower (Persian: برج آزادی‎, Borj-e Āzādi; “Freedom Tower”), formerly known as the Shahyad Tower (برج شهیاد, Borj-e Ŝahyād; “Shah’s Memorial Tower”), is a monument located at Azadi Square, in Tehran, Iran. It is one of the landmarks of Tehran, marking the west entrance to the city, and is part of the Azadi Cultural Complex, which also includes a museum underground.iran tour

The tower is about 45 metres (148 ft) tall and is completely clad in cut marble. It was commissioned by Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, the last Shah of Iran, to mark the 2,500th year of the foundation of the Imperial State of Iran.

After winning a competition, architect Hossein Amanat was tasked to design the tower, his client being the Council of Celebrations.iran tour His ideas were based upon classical and post-classical Iranian architecture, popular influences on art in the 1960s following the White Revolution. Iran’s increasing wealth sparked modernisation programmes and sent the art industry into a renaissance-like





The first name associated with this monument was Darvāze-ye Kuroš (“the Gate of Cyrus”), and at the time of the Centenary Celebrations, Asadollah Alam, who chaired the Council of Celebrations, referred to the monument as Darvāze-ye Šāhanšāhi (“the Imperial Gate”).iran tour

The monument’s official name was decided before the announcement of the competition for the monument’s design in September 1966. Bahram Farahvashi, a scholar and professor of ancient Iranian languages who worked with the Council of Celebrations, came up with the officially designated name of the structure, Šahyād Āryāmehr.

Built in 1971 in commemoration of the 2,500th year of the foundation of the Imperial State of Iran, this “gateway into Tehran” was named the Šahyād (“King’s Memorial”) in honor of Shah Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, but was renamed Āzādi (“Freedom”) following the 1979 Revolution. iran tour

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered and Designed by Iranian Glory© copyright 2018 by Iranian Glory.